Duncanville Noon Lions Club Awards Six College Scholarships

Duncanville Noon Lions Club awards six college scholarships
Angel Luong, Jasmin Serrett, and Dub Guthrie- photo by Don McBurnett

Duncanville Noon Lions Club has awarded six scholarships to students from Duncanville High School for 2021. The 2021 scholarship winners are Deja Parker, Daisy Villegas, Angela Estrada, Angel Luong, Jasmin Serrett, and Marie McGrew.

“The Duncanville Noon Lions Club once again is pleased to carry forward the long-standing tradition of providing educational assistance to some deserving Duncanville Area High School graduates. We are aware of the need for young people to prepare themselves for the adventures of life and are excited to assist in this process,” said Duncanville Noon Lions Club Scholarship & Education Grant Foundation Chair Michael Chrietzberg.

For the scholarships, up to ten financial grants in the amount of $1,200 each are available to all 2021 graduates of Duncanville High School and Village Tech School. Students wishing to further their education, whether it is at a university, junior college, or trade school, are eligible to apply for the scholarships. Educational achievements and financial needs are only two areas the Duncanville Lions Club takes into consideration.

Scholarship Applications

“We are looking for well-rounded students who have participated in extra-curricular activities, have a strong sense of volunteerism, and a strong work ethic,” Chrietzberg said.

“Since circa 1998 the Duncanville Noon Lions Club Scholarship and Educational Grant Foundation has awarded more than $300,000 in scholarships to 233 local graduating high school seniors,” Chrietzberg said. “We commend our local schools for their commitment to excellence, and are proud of our graduates and their achievements.”

Duncanville Noon Lions Club awards six college scholarships
Deja Parker, Daisy Villegas, Angela Estrada with Lions Club President Guthrie photo by Chris Waits

A committee of Lions Club members review and rank the applications. The number of scholarships awarded is typically between five and ten, depending on how the applications are ranked.

The Duncanville Noon Lions Club started in 1971, and its members hold weekly lunch meetings with interesting programs at the Lions Club Building in Duncanville each Friday. The service organization sponsors the Duncanville Independence Day Parade July 4. The club is also a sponsor of the Sandra Meadows Basketball Classic, along with the Lions Club Camp in Kerrville and the Sight & Tissue Foundation. They also hold such fundraising events as an annual golf tournament and a pancake breakfast.

Duncanville Noon Lions Club Officers

Dub Guthrie is the recently installed President of the Duncanville Noon Lions Club, with Steve Davis immediate past president. Ray Pursley is First Vice President, Matthew Jones is second VP, and Vance Newland is third VP. Club secretary is Norma Flatt, and Steve Rutherford serves as Treasurer.

The Board of Directors for the club meet every third Wednesday at the Lions Community Building. Two year directors are Jane Moore, Janice Oldham, Dr. Bill Dover, and Doyce Smith. One year directors are Dan Barkley, Mike Chrietzberg, Dotti Pennebaker, and David Mills.