BSW Legislative Breakfast Series Begins Aug. 5

BSW Legislative Breakfast Series Begins Aug. 5
State Senator Royce West (D-Dallas) discusses the Texas Legislature's upcoming session with Lancaster Mayor Marcus Knight. (2014 File Photo)

BEST SOUTHWEST—This August the Best Southwest Partnership (BSW) is continuing their annual weekly legislative breakfast series. With a total of 469 seats in Congress up for election in November, being an informed part of the legislative process is more important than ever.

Each Friday morning Methodist Charlton Medical Center President Fran Laukaitis will play host to the BSW legislative breakfast series. It begins at 7:15 a.m. in the Outpatient Building, 1st Floor Auditorium.

Here’s a snapshot of this year’s BSW Legislative Breakfast Series topics and special guests:

BSW Legislative Liaison Mayor Marcus Knight is chairing the first session August 5, 2016. The program will primarily focus on Transportation. Beginning at 7:40 a.m. Knight has invited Texas Transportation Commissioner Victor Vandergriff to give an overview on area transportation opportunities.

Hon. Cliff Boyd, BSW Chairman is coordinating the August 12th Education program which will have a panel consisting of President Bob Mong, UNT Dallas, Dr. Robert Garza, president of Mountain View College, Dr. Jennifer Wimbish, president of Cedar Valley College, and Dean Royal Furgeson, UNT Dallas College of Law.

Dr. Cynthia Mickens-Ross is chairing the August 19th HealthCare program, and has invited the Director of Texas Health and Human Services Commission.

On August 26th Laura Terhune, DeSoto Chamber, and Patty Bushart, Cedar Hill Tourism, are coordinating a look at “Tourism-Our Cleanest Industry”, with Janie Havel of Texas Governor’s Office of Economic Development and Tourism. What opportunities are available in the BSW?

2016 TGIF Series Sponsors are: City of Cedar Hill, Access Self Storage and Jim McDonald’s State Farm Insurance. Daily Sponsors include Hillside Village, PlainsCapital Bank, Cedar Valley College, Bank of DeSoto, UNT Dallas and Town Square Realty.