Eighteen DeSoto Eagles Players Make Texas Academic All-State Team

high school athletics
Not only are the 2016 DeSoto Eagles Football Team undefeated, but DeSoto Leads District 7-6A With 18 Academic All-State Football Players.

DeSoto Athletes Make The Grade On, Off The Field

DESOTO—Recently 18 student-athletes from the Eagles football program earned a spot on the Texas Academic All-State Team. The Texas High School Coaches Association recognizes school athletes who excel in the following categories: GPA, class rank and ACT/SAT score.

“We have amazing young men who are intelligent, caring and passionate about their team, who are also skilled athletes,” stated DeSoto Head Football Coach Todd Peterman. “In addition, we have built a solid support system with teachers, administrators, and parents to emphasize the importance of academics. Our students must first succeed in the classroom before they can excel on the field.”

Similar to colleges, DeSoto ISD has an academic advisor. Doug Cox provides tutoring and additional academic resources for football players.

“Mr. Doug Cox is an integral part of our student-athlete development. Just as our athletic trainers look after a player’s physical well-being, he, along with our entire coaching staff, monitors their academic well-being,” said Peterman. “Mr. Cox is able to bring in more tutors when needed, utilize software programs as an additional resource, monitor their grades and assignments, and communicate with coaches when a player needs to miss part of practice to prepare for a test or complete a project.”

To be considered for Academic All-State, a student-athlete must be a senior in good standing with the team and of good moral character with an overall GPA of 92 or higher in all courses from grades 9-11 and courses completed from grade 12.

All 18 Eagles were named to the Honorable Mention Team. The other seven teams representing 7-6A had a combined 14 players selected for Academic All-State.

DeSoto Eagles Texas Academic All-State Team:

Jordan Allen
Cherokee Barnett
Daymon Brisco
Caleb Ervin
Zachary Guidry
Samuel Hunter
Kemonte Yow
Jermarius Marshall
Kadarrion Nixon
Tyrese Palmer
Emmett Perry
Shawn Robinson
Joe Ruiz
Isaiah Stewart
Zxavier Telsee
Richie Washington
Camry Wickware
Shane Williams