Who Is On The Ballot? Local May City Council And School Board Elections

black background with white text

Here is a rundown of who is running in the municipal elections: City Council and ISD School Board in the FDN Readership area

Election Day: May 4, 2024 – 7 a.m. to 7 p.m.

Early Voting:   April 22 to 26, 2024 – 8 a.m. to 5 p.m.

April 27, 2024 – 8 a.m. to 4 p.m.

April 29 & 30, 2024 – 7 a.m. to 7 p.m.

Editor’s Note: We included links to candidates’ Facebook pages if we were able to find them. If yours is missing, please contact us so it can be updated.



City Council



Cedar Hill

Place 1

Gerald Malone

Shirley Daniels – Incumbent


Place 2

Bertha Middlebrooks

Chad McCurdy – Incumbent



Place 6

Crystal Chism – Incumbent

Shirley Robinson


Place 7

Letitia Hughes – Incumbent




Greg Contreras

Mark D. Cooks


District 2

Don McBurnett – Incumbent

Nancy Gutierrez


District 4

Karen Cherry-Brown – Incumbent


District 5

Kyle Pennebaker

Homer Fincannon

Stephanie Champagne

Derwin Broughton



Did not respond by press time with candidate’s names.

On the ballot Mayor and two city council members at large




Clyde Hairston – Incumbent



*Election will be canceled due to no opposition for open seats

Place 3

Brent Newsom – Incumbent


Place 4

Juan Fresquez

Place 5

Julie Short – Incumbent



Place 5

Ross Weaver

Ed Gardner – Incumbent


Place 6  

Ronnie Morris

Wayne Shuffield

Dannion McLendon

Hud Hartson – Incumbent


Red Oak


Mark L. Stanfill – Incumbent


Place 1

Willie G. Franklin Jr. – Incumbent


Place 3

Sean Flannery

Ricardo Miller



Independent School District Trustees


Cedar Hill ISD

Place 6

Jacquetta Leen Haygood

Jeffrey Saldivar

Ayanna Cabrera-Cook


Place 7

Lester Singleton

Shomega Daniels-Austin (withdrew)


DeSoto ISD

Eboni Mitchell


District 7

Tracy McNairy – Incumbent

Ricky Wesson


Duncanville ISD

Place 6

Janice Savage-Martin – Incumbent


Place 7

Carla Fahey – Incumbent


Lancaster ISD

District 1

Marion Hamilton – Incumbent


District 2

Gregory Stephenson

Quinnie  Nichols

Zachary East


Mansfield ISD

Place 1

Michelle Newsom – Incumbent

Matthew Herzberg


Place 2

Jandel Crutchfield

Angel Hidalgo


Midlothian ISD

Place 1

Richard Pena – Incumbent

Lisa Healy


Place 2

Gary Vineyard – Incumbent


Place 3

Eduardo Gonzalez – Incumbent

Ryan Timm


Red Oak ISD

*Election will be canceled due to no opposition for open seats

Place 6

Michelle Porter


Place 7

Melanie Petersen